Board of Health

Board of Health of the Licking County Combined General Health District

Local Boards of Health are established by Ohio Revised Code (ORC) Chapter 3709 which outlines the powers of the local Boards of Health including nuisance abatement and communicable disease control. Powers and duties of Boards of Health and Health Commissioners are outlined in ORC Chapter 3707.

Local Health Districts are established by ORC Chapter 3709. Each health district is a separate political subdivision, similar to a school district, with an appointed Board of Health. Each district has a Health Commissioner who reports to the Board of Health. There are general health districts (county), city health districts and combined health districts (county and city). There are currently 116 districts in Ohio. The Licking County Health Department serves the Combined General Health District of Licking County, including the cities of Newark, Heath, Pataskala, and Johnstown.

Licking County General Health District Board of Health members are appointed by a District Advisory Council made up of the president of the board of county commissioners, the mayor of each village, and the chairman of the board of township trustees of each township in the general health district. The mayors of Newark, Heath, Johnstown, and Pataskala also appoint representatives to the board. Board of Health members serve 5 year terms and are eligible for compensation for attending monthly board meetings of $80.00.

The Board meets on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 5:30PM in the 3rd floor conference room of the Licking County Health Department, located at 675 Price Road in Newark.

Licking County Board of Health Member Roster


If you would like to see Board of Health Minutes or Agendas prior to 2023, please email us at

Untitled design (8)

Board of Health Meeting Information

Minutes           Agendas

2024                     2024

January 2024           January 2024

February 2024          February 2024

        March 2024              March 2024

April 2024                  April 2024

May 2024                  May 2024

June 2024                  June 2024
Special Meeting     Special Meeting

         June 2024                 June 2024

July 2024                  July 2024

Minutes           Agendas

2023                     2023

January 2023           January 2023

February 2023        February 2023

March 2023              March 2023 

April 2023                  April 2023

May 2023                   May 2023

June 2023                   June 2023

July 2023                     July 2023

August 2023              August 2023

September 2023       September 2023

October 2023             October 2023

November 2023         November 2023

December 2023         December 2023

Scroll to Top